Wolf Creek National Fish Hatchery


City of Jamestown
Business Name: City of Jamestown
Business Genre: , ,
Long Business Description:
Jamestown, the county seat of Russell County. The town first called Jacksonville, in honor of President Andrew Jackson, was incorporated on December 23, 1827. When the local Anti-Jacksonian Party came into power in 1826, the community was renamed Jamestown to honor James Wooldridge, donor of the one hundred acre town site.

   Lake Cumberland, completed by the Army Corps of Engineers in 1952, is of great economic importance to Jamestown for the recreational fishing and boating along its 1,317 miles of shoreline in the region. Wolf Creek Dam is located in Russell County on Lake Cumberland. Wolf Creek Dam, located in Russell County forming Lake Cumberland, was not only built by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), but is also owned and operated by them.

Jamestown considers itself a family oriented community;voted #1 in Kentucky best small town for raising a family, 19th in the nation,  family values, friendly people, low crime rate, strong work ethic, and involved leadership.
City of Jamestown
112 North Main Street    Jamestown  , KY. 42629
Phone : (270) 343-4594
Office Hours : Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
Business Genre: ,
Long Business Description:


City of Russell Springs City Hall is located at 487 Main Street, Russell Springs, KY 42642. You can also contact Mayor Eddie Thomas at 270-866-3496.

Russell Springs is a 4th-class city in Russell County, Kentucky. The city is known as the gateway to Lake Cumberland , one of the largest man-made lakes east of the Mississippi River, created by the impoundment of the Cumberland River by Wolf Creek Dam . Russell Springs is the largest city in the county, having a population of 2,452 during the year 2012 U.S. Census. Russell County sits at the start of the Central Time Zone line, so all areas of Russell County reside in the Central Time Zone.

The present city grew out of a resort centered on a local chalybeate spring.

The local US Post Office was established in 1855 as “Russell Springs”, named after the county, but was discontinued in 1865 and reopened as Kimble (after local businessman George Kimble) in 1888. The community restored the name Russell Springs in 1901 and incorporated in 1936. The county and the city are named after Col. William Russell, a local veteran, politician and businessman of the time.

Russell Springs is located geographically in the southern portion of the state of Kentucky and roughly halfway from east to west between its borders

Address: PO Box 247
487 Main Street
Russell Springs, KY 42642
Phone Number: 270-866-3981
Max Wise
Business Name: Max Wise
Business Genre: ,
Long Business Description:

Individual memberships are available for Russell County Chamber of Commerce. We appreciate the support of Senator Max Wise.

Russell County Fiscal Court
Business Genre:
Long Business Description:

Russell County Fiscal Court is located at 410 Monument Square, Suite 205 Jamestown, KY 42629.

Fiscal Court Meetings
2nd Monday at 6:00 PM


Magistrate District #1: Terry Waddell (R)
Cell: 270-566-1077

Magistrate District #2: Patrick Loy (R)
Cell: 270-566-0756

Magistrate District #3: Ronald Johnson (R)
Cell: 270-566-1887

Magistrate District #4: Steve Richardson (R)
Cell: 270-866-0716

Magistrate District #5: Larry Holt (R)
Cell: 270-585-2002

Business Genre: , ,
Long Business Description:

The Russell County Public Library’s earliest record of establishment dates back to 1945. Although very few records were kept during this period, services began expanding in 1954 when Russell County was given a T4-871 Bookmobile, donated by the International Harvester Company, and driven by the county’s first Librarian, Mrs. Elizabeth Phelps.

In 1956, a room in the basement of the Russell County Court House Annex was rented as a place to conduct a Story Hour program, and with many of her own materials donated for the public’s use, Mrs. Phelps singlehandedly kept the Library open three days a week and drove the bookmobile three days a week.

On June 12, 1965, the Russell County Public Library District was officially formed by a petition of register voters, and in 1967, the Library moved to its newly constructed building located one-half block from the Court House Square in Jamestown. The first Board of Trustees members for the new district included Mr. Othello Gaskin, Mrs. Christine Blair, Mrs. Joyce Akers, Mr. Kenneth Hadley, and Mr. Kenton Cooper. Mrs. Elizabeth Phelps continued to serve as Librarian until 1970.

Tim Popplewell, PVA
Business Name: Tim Popplewell, PVA
Business Genre:
Long Business Description:

Tim Popplewell is the PVA or Property Valuation Administrator, of Russell County. You can contact him at 270-858-9093, or by email at tim.popplewell@ky.gov.

The Russell County P.V.A. is a locally elected official charged with assessing all property, both real and personal, that lies within Russell County. There are some exceptions such as public service companies, bank shares, omitted tangible properties and vehicles, all values which the Kentucky Department of Revenue assigns in Frankfort.

All property, unless specifically exempted by the Constitution, is taxable. The Constitution expressly prohibits exemption of any property or persons except those allowed by the Constitution itself. Therefore, taxation is the rule and exemption the exception.

Wolf Creek National Fish Hatchery
Business Genre:
Long Business Description:

Wolf Creek National Fish Hatchery was constructed in 1975. This is one of the most recently constructed hatcheries in the federal hatchery system.

This station currently produces approximately 1,000,000 rainbow, brown, and brook trout weighing 275,000 pounds annually. In cooperation with the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, fish are stocked into 120 different public fishing waters in the state. No private waters are stocked. The majority of the fish are stocked in waters controlled by the federal government.

Wolf Creek National Fish Hatchery is located at 50 Kendall Road Jamestown, KY 42629. You can contact James Gray at 270-343-3797, or by email at James_Gray@fws.gov